Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To some people, the only possible solution to address famine and poverty is through economic development. Others, however, state that governments should stop economic growth as it is boosted at the expense of the environment. Personally, I hold support for the former perspective.

Most businesses, during their growth, can not avoid causing deterioration to the environment although thanks to technology advances, this damage is being minimized. For instance, in the manufacturing sector, an indispensable part of the economy, most factories would have to discharge waste, polluted water and exhausted fumes as an output of their production process. Furthermore, even in the so-called “green” business like tourism and software technologies, exhausted fumes caused by transportation and the operation of computers are inevitable. However, in recent years, many breakthroughs have been made in terms of production process and logistics, which optimize the resources used and make the environmental losses as minor as possible with Tesla being a telling example for this as this car-manufacturing company has pioneered the electricity-powered car industry.

On the other hand, environmental damages aside, it is undeniable that economic growth has played an essential part in solving famine and poverty and brought about the financial resources needed to improve natural habits. In other words, during an economic upturn, more jobs are created and employers offer higher salaries simultaneously, therefore, people would earn enough to not only cover basic living expenses like food and accommodation but also improve their living quality. Moreover, besides social welfare benefits, an increase in GDP allows authorities and corporations to apply effective green solutions. For instance, the most strictly-applied environmental requirements are mostly seen in developed nations like Germany, Britain, the USA, to name but a few as only in these countries do firms and residents have enough budget to conduct eco-friendly procedures.

In conclusion, despite causing some environmental harms, economic development is still a significant element in ending prolonged famine and poverty. Additionally, by carrying out green technologies purchased by the increased financial source, the losses of natural resources would be reduced.