Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Disputes around economic growth continue to be controversial. Most people consider that economic growth is an exclusive method to break up starvation and misery, whereas an alternative opinion is that economic development causes harm to the environment and should be stunted. There are strong views on both sides, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, supporters of the economic development believe that it leads to an increase of population incomes and provides people the basic necessity of life. For example, developed countries worldwide can provide their citizens with different ways of livelyhood because of variety of industry. As a result people seek to earn more money by working hard at different types of institutes. The total profit gained from all manufacturers is liable for trickling down, as a result employees can get the allowance to their salaries.

On the other hand, the opponents of the industrialization say that the pollution outweigh all benefits of improved livelyhood. If industry continues to damage environment no poverty or starvation will be caused of planet disasters. For instance, ozone hole which cannot be solved by economic growth. Furthermore, the flood due to warming causes a loss more than poverty.

In conclusion, my own feelings are that both opinions are right and people should reach consensus because mankind can resist hunger and misery by supporting environment and developing new eco-friendly manufacturing. Moreover, we witness how many developed countries, which have advanced economy, are concerning about pollution. Of course, they can afford to use high-tech production because they could come out the troubles with poverty and now are able to pay their attention on environment.