Some people say the fashion industry has a bad effect on people’s lives.

Do you agree?

Whether or not the fashion industry affects the public severely is an open-ended source of debate. In my opinion, I support this statement for several reasons.

People are aware of their appearance in front of others; therefore, they pay much attention to how they dress. Instant fashion trends not only create a massive change in the fashion industry, but they also influence people's opinions on appearance. For example, the intermittent fashion industry encourages people to put more effort into their appearances; thus, they would throw away their old clothes and spend a lot of money on the trendiest jeans or shoes. Moreover, the fashion industry creates appearance obsession in people; thus, it leads to many problems such as depression or self-deprecation if people dress obsolete to the newest fashion trend.

Fashion is not only about clothes but also related to luxury. According to a well-known fashion magazine, the public is willing to spend tons of money on luxury brands such as Chanel or Dior to be up to trends. However, this results in excessive waste in how people buy clothes because clothes from famous brands are expensive. Buying high-priced clothes just to be fashionable is unnecessary. Furthermore, spending money on expensive clothes to be trendy can cause many individuals to suffer from monetary problems such as debt.

In conclusion, the fashion industry somehow has a negative impact on society because it not only makes people obsessed with their looks but also brings about financial issues due to the high prices of clothes.