Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that parents should be in charge of holding leisure activities for their offspring. The alternative view is that children should have the freedom to do whatever they want in their spare time. Personally I think a combination of both is best.

It is somewhat true that children should have a chance to participate in recreational activities organised by parents. In fact, many parents are conventionally more well-informed and experienced than their children ;moreover, they are capable of grasping what their children ought to be equipped with and which activities are constructive. For instance, parents accumulated further knowledge related to the pros and cons of experienced leisure activities; hence, they would avoid creating destructive activities such as adventurous games or computer-based games. Besides this, when children have opportunities to join leisure activities created by parents, their mutual relationship will be better cemented. To be specific, they probably have a sense of great gratitude when they are exposed to those activities, because they appreciate parental endeavors to organise them. Thus, parents ought to devote their spare time to creating wholesome activities for children.

However, others assert that children should be entitled to select their favorite leisure activities. They hate excessive parental control. Likewise, it might be stated that it is unwise to force children to engage in activities which they have no interest in. What is more, choosing their own activities help them to nurture creativity and develop cognitive skills, because they can take up challenges and then discover their hidden talents. A prime example of this is Leonardo Da Vinci who gained remarkable success in his art field since he kept himself occupied on his own in childhood stages. Therefore, permission for children to select their own activities is needed.

In brief, I am for both giving children freedom to take part in whatever they want and parents organising leisure activities intended for them when necessary. It is by far more balanced that parents supervise their children properly and they also can enhance their creativity and perception on their own.