Some people say that the government should increase the tax on petrol in order to decrease traffic and pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals indeed argue that the government imposing an increase in rates of taxation on gasoline can decline the number of vehicles and resultant pollution. While I agree that this strategy can be partly effective, I believe that using other renewable sources of energy can be more sustainable in terms of alleviating the seriousness of traffic and pollution problems.

On the one hand, the rising gasoline tax can contribute to a decline in traffic and pollution. it is based on a classical economic theory that the higher the price, the lower the quantity demanded. thus, due to increasing the price of petrol, this can afterwards lead to alleviation in terms of traffic and air problem through a decrease in the number of users of this energy. take Iran as an example. although this country is renowned for its enormous oil resources, the government determined to put up the tax on gasoline but still carry out the maintenance in public transportations prices. As a result, citizens had to find other alternative options; and convincing evidence has shown that the number of people using public means of transport, namely bus, tram and metro has considerably gone up rather than the past.

On the other hand, the usage of alternative renewable energies can help to address such issues more sustainably. they are considered clean and eco-friendly because they emit low or zero carbon footprint and greenhouse gas into the environment. thus, by doing this can people contribute to cutting back on air pollution. take Vietnam, the country that has a high number of sunny hours per year as an example. If the government can make use of this huge advantage and utilize solar power to run public vehicles with a cheap fare, they can encourage more citizens to travel through eco-friendly cheap buses.

In conclusion, although it cannot be denied that imposing an increase in the gasoline taxes can contribute to a decline in traffic and pollution, I have a conviction that it is better to use renewable energies to achieve the same goals.