Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, Science and Technology are widely believed to be of greater significance compared with History. This essay will discuss both these views and point out that no matter how important other subjects are, history should be given the top priority.

It is argued that students should focus first and foremost on studying technology and science for several reasons. On a personal level, these kinds of subjects could give a financially comfortable life for those who study them. Because of the increasing demand for manpower who are proficient in these two subjects to develop modern sectors, people themselves are always given numerous job opportunities and career progression. On the societal level, it is considered that technology and science might bring humans economic growth and greater future prosperity. Once choosing to study such subjects, students could therefore create more outstanding innovations which benefit human life.

However, I believe that history should be included in the school curriculum despite the importance of others in this today’s world. Firstly, if history is emphasized as a compulsory subject, it would develop a sense of roots and identity for people from a very young age. To elaborate, there is an educational continuity throughout all generations and walks of life learned from historical events, therefore unifying all people and helping them to comprehend how their forefather’s life and culture has evolved. Secondly, focusing on history might be considered as a way to widen a glimpse of the future. With the implied messages which can be learned from the past, people can avoid bad situations and enhance human life. Fascism, for instance, has shown the aftermath of the evil and therefore ensures that Human rights violations never happen again.

To conclude, people’s opinions differ as to whether History should hold top importance in the school curriculum. With these aforementioned ideas, I do believe that this subject is indispensable.