Some people say History is one of the most important schools subjects. Other people think, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Schools have become effective institutions recently, playing a major role on children’s future path. Hence, there is an argument over the issue of which subjects are more vital to be taught in schools. Some people believe History has always been one of the most necessary ones, while other would say that novel topics such as Science and Technology have lead the way as the requirements of modern lifestyle. Although there are valid reasons for both group’s statements, I, personally, would lean towards the former.

From some people standpoint, it is an indisputable fact that never has the world witnessed such an exponential industrial growth throughout its history. Entailing to every aspects of life, Science and Technology are warranted to be acquired by all members of society, especially the young generation. This knowledge lead to practical projects which culminate in a more revolutionized society, while history is just a theoretical subject with no vivid future. Thus, these subjects should be compulsory at schools.

On the other hand, at the other end of this spectrum, there is a strong believe that history is a pivot through which identity turn. If pupils study history, they will be more informed about their cultural heritage and as a result, they will feel more sense of belonging. Moreover, broadening students’ knowledge of their culture, ethos and ancestors, History would exert a profound influence over their understanding of the world. During this process, children and teenagers not only become familiar with different eras and civilizations, but also have more mental stability. So it can be said that, History motives students to enhance their society in different fields even Science and Technology.

By way of conclusion, both History and Science and Technology are essential topics these days. History, nonetheless, as the mother of all sciences should be considered as schools’ priority. By taking this approach, students will be more determined to build their society, which is also the ultimate target of Science and Technology.