Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up

new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about

the effect this is having on social interaction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view ?

Ever since the down of the era of the internet and the world wide web, the communication industry has greatly expanded. Before, sending a message to a person abroad would have taken weeks or even months through post, and telegram was a luxury available only to the rich. Now, sending a message through the internet takes just a few seconds, and is not restricted by factors such as location and time.

Naturally, the internet has bough along with it, its own share of side effects. Social media has become a great distraction in our daily lives, especially with the younger generation. People spend an upwards of 2 hours daily on social media. Social media has also been labeled to reduce emotional connection between people, with many preferring contact through media over having a conversation face-to-face. It has also been a source of fake news and scams.

While the internet has a been a catalyst for improvement in communication technology, it has bought along with it its own set of disadvantages. Like with every invention, the way it is used is very important, and the internet is no different. The internet has played a advantageous role in facilitating social interaction, and the only side disadvantages stem from incorrect usage. Hence, it is of great importance that the internet is used judiciously so as to minimize its side effects.