Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

The Internet is one of the biggest inventions of the last decades, contributing to society in many different ways, such as for sharing data, monitoring events or markets and also breaking communication frontiers. Generally, we can assume that Internet has a major role in globalization, primarily because it opens new ways of communication like Skype or Facebook, but we also need to consider its secondary effects. In my opinion, I agree with both scenarios given in the topic above.

In the one hand we can’t ignore that internet brought to the world new revolutionary ways of interaction allowing many new things that without it, it would be impossible. One simple example is the way internet changed recruiting by Human Resource department. Previously, the only way for a company to recruit a new employee was by physical interview and with a curriculum in paper, with the internet companies are now allowed to recruit easily by video conference interviews and receive several electronic curriculums, making the task much easier, but also to open frontiers, reducing the process duration and expanding the market.

Another example is the possibility of talking to your family in real time, even if they are far away. I experienced that myself when my brother went to study in Lisbon, the use of Skype was essential to communicate with him and I am sure that once I go to the United Kingdom it will be a powerful tool to stay in touch with my family.

In the other hand, when not controlled or used wisely, Internet can limit the development of humans, especially kids and teenagers, creating a social barrier interfering with social interaction and development instead of helping with it. Many people, use the internet as a refuge to social life, whether because of their personal problems like low self-esteem and shyness or addiction to games or other internet subjects.

Summing up, I believe that internet has its pros and cons, and it is essential that people can filter how and when they should use it. As everything, the usage of what we have in our possession is controlled by us, and internet when well used can have huge benefits in many fields, but at the same when not can, result in problems.