Some people say that international sporting events contribute greatly to peace and stability in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In ancient times, sports used to be considered a juvenile activity which was only confined to parks and indoors. While today sports have pushed the boundaries and have attracted national and international audiences and players. So, there is no denying that sports have the power to unite the world and maintain global peace and I completely agree with this viewpoint.

Undoubtedly, sports at international level play a sterling role in diplomatic relations among different nations. Owing to historical or political reasons, not all the countries are at peace with each other. Admittedly, sports evoke the similar pleasure and satisfaction as a victory in war does but brings nations together. Moreover, global sports events can be icebreaker as competitors from nations create a common platform for global leaders, organizations, and athletes to interact in more convenient and sophisticated way. A good illustration is the Olympic games in which the whole world can be brought together and this has a positive impact on maintaining global harmony.

Furthermore, sports evokes high nationalistic passions towards the country along with providing a platform for patriotic emotions to be released. It is a constructive way to exhibit one's patriotic emotions. Even, International game events such as Commonwealth games bring recognition to small countries. For instance, it is difficult to locate West Indies and Bermuda on the world map, however, they are well-known countries just because of their cricket teams which always participate in Cricket World Cup. By and large, the sport is the only activity which delivers a clear message of peace and paves the road to building world harmony.

To reiterate, sports activity is a positive channelling of energy which kills negativity and brings peace and joy to the world.