Some people say that it is acceptable to test medicine intended for people on animals. Others, however believe that it is not right to use animals in this research?

Dicuss both views and give your own opinion?

Many consider it normal for people to use animals for clinical trials, while others believe it is morally wrong to use animals for medical research. Personally, although animal testing is decidedly immoral, it plays an essential role in devising new drugs.

On the one hand, detractors of animal testing often point out that animals have rights. Such notion is predicated on the idea that animals have consciousness and feelings which are features that a human also possesses. Moreover, using animals for medical assessments means inflicting pain and its attendant aversive mental states on them, like anxiety or depression. Therefore, it is unethical to witness a creature with some similar features of humans to suffer a clinical trail or even die an agonizing death, should the test fail. This is undeniably unjustifiable, especially regarding tests in non-essential medical fields like cosmetics.

On the other hand, animal sacrifice for scientific advancement is critically necessary for the wellness of humans. As a matter of fact, a newly-devised drug is too risky to be tested on a human even though the consent is obtained. More importantly, some animal species, such as rats, have great similarities in genetic structures with humans. As a result, if tests for newly-found vaccines are conducted on these species, then pharamceutical companies can warrant the vaccines’ use before mass-producing. This means countless human lives will be saved to an extent that it would be impossible if scientists were working under the moral constraints of human test subjects. It is true that causing pains to a living creature is unacceptable from an animal activist’s perspective, however; its contribution to the stability of a society is well-justified.

In conclusion, while more ethical alternatives to animal testing are still under development, the best way to make breakthroughts in medicine is making use of laboratory animals.