some people say that it is impossible for a country to be both economically successfull and have a clean environment. to what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that a nation cannot keep a balance between developing economies and having a clean environment. I strongly agree with this opinion that economic success will lead to damage to the environment. This essay will support my answer with additional details.

For economic growth, an enormous amount of energy and resources are needed, from wood to non-renewable resources such as coal, oil, natural gas. The more developing the economy is, the more the environment is exploited. For example, people have been destroying tropical forests for wood, agricultural development which is one of the main causes changing the global climate. Or overfishing directs the shortage of fish species. All of these threaten biodiversity which makes a balanced environment.

In addition, people tend to live in the economic developing regions, particularly in cities. Infrastructure of these areas need to be constructed to meet the requirements of the overpopulation, increasing pressure on the regions’ environment like loss of the natural habitat. Also citizens have to face dozens of environmental problems such as noise pollution, road congestion, lower air quality and huge increase in household waste and industrial exhaust.

In conclusion, it is difficult for economic growth and a clean environment to coexist. When a country attempts to develop its economy, the environment will be affected more or less because of exploiting resources and citizens’ production and daily activities. If each nation only focuses on the economy, the environmental conditions will become worse, and soon we will run out of inhabitable places on the earth.