Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extant do you agree or disagree?

Some think it is better to build new houses in the open spaces. While others back the option of planting trees and consider it as crucial. I totally agree with the latter opinion, because of the trees important effects on locals' lives.

On one hand, some prefer to have more houses in the cities to answer the need for housing. That is because the population in towns increase steadily, while the supply of housing options does not grow at the same pace. Thus, there is a gap in the market of housing between demand and supply in many cities around the world; hence, the prices of houses and apartments are spiking. Therefore, those people encourage the use of open spaces as additional housing zones to close the market gap. For example, Cairo is the home for more than fifteen million citizens and suffers from an extensive housing problem. Therefore, the city's officials changed many internal open areas and gardens into residential projects. However, I believe this is not the right way to approach the housing demand issue, as it creates crowded towns with a low level of sustainability.

On the other hand, planting trees in open spaces has numerous benefits. Firstly, trees enhance the air quality in the city, which in return, decrease the level of air pollution resulted from some house and industrial practices. That is an overall boost for the environment. Second benefit is creating open zones for the residents to enjoy recreational activities, such as parks and gardens. Consequently, the residents' standard of living is elevated significantly. In my opinion, living in a healthy and well-functioning city has a great positive impact on both; individuals' and societies.

To conclude, although some favour building new houses in open spaces to supply new homes, I agree with the view of planting trees in those areas. That is because I believe that the locals' health level is far more important than creating short term poorly planned housing solutions.