Some people say that it is necessary to use animals for testing the medicines intended for human beings others however think it is cruel and unnecessary Discuss both views and give your opinion

Animals have been used to develop medical treatments, determine the toxicity of medication and check the safety of products destined for human use for ages. While I tend toward the viewpoint that animal testing is morally wrong, I would have to support a limited amount of animal experimentation before the medicines are cleared for human use.

Proponents of the use of animals in medical research believe that it has enabled the development of many life-saving treatments. They argue that people receiving medical treatments that had been developed through the use of animal testing would feel grateful rather than offended. In addition, animal testing is crucial to ensure whether the vaccines are safe. Take the Covid-19 pandemic as an example, scientists racing to develop a vaccine for coronavirus need to test extensively on genetically modified mice to prevent "vaccine enhancement", a situation that makes the disease worse in some people. Also, there is almost no adequate alternative to testing on a living and whole-body system, which is extremely complex.

On the other hand, there are clear ethical arguments against animal experimentation. It is accused of cruelty and inhumanity because animals used in experiments would be commonly subjected to force-feeding, food and water deprivation, and the infliction of wounds and pains. To use a common example of this practice, laboratory mice may be given an illness so that the effectiveness of a new product could be measured. Opponents of such research believe that humans have no right to subject animals to this kind of trauma, and the lives of all creatures should be respected. Nowadays it is such a trend that cruelty-free products are becoming the women's preferred choice. Many countries have banned or restricted the sale of cosmetics with ingredients tested on animals, including nations in the European Union.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be wrong to completely ban testing on animals for vital medical research until equally effective alternatives have been developed. Though animal testing on new drugs and medical procedures is a necessary evil, I personally agreed with the banning of this method for mon-medical products.