Topic: Fossil Fuels such as coal, oil, and natural gas, is extensively in many countries which cause harm to the environment. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, is being encouraged in many countries.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

We are now in a climate emergency that fossil fuels are undeniably one of the primary contributors. The need for renewable and clean alternatives is growing more urgent than ever. For this reason, many nations have increased momentum to the development of new renewable and clean energy. In my opinion, a full transition will not happen overnight, but such changes would create crucial environmental, social, and economic benefits.

On the one hand, the shift toward alternative types of energy would probably put a financial burden on governments and businesses as they will have to invest millions of dollars in purchasing and developing new facilities for harnessing solar, wind, and hydro-electric power. This is the rationale why many countries, especially poor economies, are still unable to use this power source. Although the supply is finite, oil is plentiful and the technology to extract it continues to improve, making it evermore economical to produce and use. The same is also largely true for natural gas. While transportation is the biggest energy-consuming sector, which comes from petroleum, renewables, mainly in the form of biofuels, accounts for 5 percent. So many people believe that switching to renewable energy only makes an infinitesimal change.

However, I still support the worthwhile investment of alternative energies because of theirs remarkable merits. First, there is a growing concern that emission from fossil fuels contributes to continuous rise in average global temperatures, which may prompt natural habitat destruction and sea-level rise. And even if oil, coal, and natural gas are available, we couldn’t rely on them forever because they are nonrenewable and they can naturally replenish. In addition, despite the first gigantic investment, renewable energy plants need less maintenance. Since they are using sunshine, wind, stream and biomasses, they don’t need refueling. This is a compelling plus for year-round regions, including the South of Vietnam, where there has been a boom of household rooftop solar panels in recent years.

In conclusion, there have been several barriers to moving out of fossil fuel age regardless of some signs of progress. It seems to me that we should be phasing out fossil fuels in the next few decades while developing new technologies to lessen the environmental impacts of these old types of energy.