Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment Some others disagree Discuss both views and give your opinion

In today’s world, economy and environment have always been a topic of concern for many nations. While a school of thought advocates the viability to financially develop and effectively protect the environment, others disapprove with them. Personally, I am more in favor of the latter opinion and this essay will demonstrate both viewpoints.

On the one hand, success in doing finance facilitates a country to save the environment. Money provides one with environmentally-friendly measures that cannot be performed without it. For instance, by raising funds to support organizations and scientists doing research on the environment with a view to illustrating the repercussions of and solutions to different culprits. Besides, national budget can be allocated to construct waste-processing systems. Whereas impoverished countries opt for disastrous methods to deal with waste such as burning it, which creates deleterious effects. Therefore, if it was not for the help of economic success, the environment might suffer severely.

On the other hand, it is not feasible to balance between being economically successful and saving the environment. To be specific, this is due to environmental negative outcomes from industrially developed nations. Factories’ fumes and coal burning releasing carbon dioxide is one of the main factors of air pollution. In addition, waste production also increases once a country attains its financial growth. An explanation for this phenomenon is the rise in human demand on merchandises in a materialistic world. Their yearning for those goods ends in a short term and later becomes garbage, which results in deterioration of the environment.

In conclusion, although being affluent can aid countries to save their environment in some certain extent, it is impossible to maintain economic success and a clean environment simultaneously.