Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes while others think one can't be judged on the basis of one's clothes. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

Dressing pattern has persistently been a subject of dispute among individuals and some people think someone’s appearances could mirror his culture and inner thoughts. Although preferred attire is sometimes considered an indication of cultural background, I think it is almost impossible to guess a person’s nature from his way of dressing and I discuss this subject in the following paragraphs.

Before the Industrial Revolution, people from divergent countries could barely communicate with each other and every society had its ownclothing style. Since then, there are still countless men and womenwho put on their efforts to keep their traditions alive and they follow the same dress code as their ancestors whichmakes distinguishing their enthics relatively easy. Traditional customs usually come in a variety of shapes and colors depending on numerous factors such as weathering conditions and the religious background of the society in the past. For example, the dress code varies regionally in my country, and while Arab people who settle down in southern parts with hot weather mostly wear light white aba, Kurdish people who inhabit mountainous areas use woolen fabricated for clothes.

However, I believe the way of dressing could not reflect the personality for several reasons. Firstly, they may be various restriction and laws in different parts of the world which limits the freedom of expression for individuals. For instance, in my country, Iran, women have to obey Islamic rules for clothing and even if someone is an atheist, she should wear Hijab in public. Secondly, in the work environment, employees with dissimilar clothing preferences are obliged to consider a high level of formality and they should dress professionally. Finally, thanks to developments in communication and transportation technology, in this such a globalized world companies can export their products internationally. So, it is not surprising if a youngster in the Middle East wears the same Nike shoes as a Hollywood superstar.

To sum up, I think while outward appearance could initiate initial judgment about a person’s background, it is not always a trustworthy factor.