Some people think that employers should not be concerned about how employees dress at work, but the quality of work only. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that executives should ignore dress codes in the workplace, and productivity should be their main concern. I thoroughly disagree with this notion due to the following reasons.

Dress policies are inevitable in some businesses as they have to follow protection guidelines or social norms. There are several occupations that require special uniforms to protect staff from potentially hazardous situations since they work in harsh physical conditions, such as the threat of fire and detrimental smoke for firefighters or chemistry engineers involved with toxic chemicals. It is therefore undeniable that if employers do not provide staffs with equipped uniforms, this harmful condition will harm employees' health, bringing about a decrease in employees' efficiency. In addition, businesses should follow the norms and legislations of the society in which they survive. As a result, if they act against the law, they will be penalized by legislators. Take Iran as an example of an Islamic country, It is illegal for Iranian women not to wear the scarf, and employers must develop clothing guidelines for their offices to ensure that this law is obeyed.

Compulsion aside, I hold the view that professional dressing would positively influence customers' perceptions. The style of dress conveys a sense of trust and confidence to customers since employees who are formally dressed are inclined toward treating more politely and professionally. This behavior creates a good image in customers' mind. Moreover, an excellent first impression is vital to client-facing corporations because should employees be dressed smartly and properly, then they will create a positive image in a client's mind that makes him feel comfortable. While other companies are expending an exorbitant amount of money to acquire and retain customers, a company caring about dress codes can achieve this by following simple clothing-related rules.

In conclusion, I disagree with the notion that high-level managers should not take dress policies as their priorities, while not only is it a must in dangerous working environments, but also it can positively influence customers.