Some people say learning history is a waste of time, others believe it has a role to play in society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been an ongoing debate over the question of whether history practically offers a benefit to society. Although some people claim it does have a practical advantage to society, others argue it is unnecessary. I believe that history has a role to play in helping human realizes the mistakes that happened in the past and is vital for those who work in particular professions.

On the one hand, critics who argue that history offers nothing for society today often point out its purposeless in today’s job market. They claim that there are no requirements of having prior knowledge of history in almost every occupation. The examples are professions such as accountants, chefs, retail employees, or those who work on construction sites, and these people are able to proceed with daily tasks at work without having to learn what happened in the events.

On the other hand, others hold a strong opinion that favours the essence of historical knowledge. It is a testament to acknowledging past errors and preventing the same possible future mistakes. History teaches us that catastrophes and atrocities in the olden days, such as wars, should not be repeated. Hence, by teaching the millennial and younger generations about this past behaviour and incidents, we will stand a chance in avoiding history repeating itself. To elucidate, in the past, millions of black people were subjected to slavery, and we now know that this way of human treatment is inhumane and immoral.

In my opinion, I uphold the idea of educating the young about past events because it would be illogical to say that we didn’t learn from human errors made by us. I believe it provides plenty of practical benefits as some professions require an in-depth knowledge of historical events. They are teachers and professors at university as well as scientists who work in the field of archaeology or social science.

In conclusion, Although some oppose the idea of learning from past mistakes as it seems to have no practical benefits to society, I firmly believe that history has a role to play in our society as it acts as a testament to prevent the same mistakes in the future and is helpful for those who work in certain areas.