The qualities that help people reach success in modern life cannot be learned in university or other academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are split regarding whether higher education can facilitate people with essential skills to succeed. I believe that universities do help people develop personal qualities such as the ability to work in solitary, teamwork skills, perseverance, and critical thinking.

Firstly, when university students prepare for their exams or try to complete individual assignments, they learn to work on their own and take accountability for their outcomes. Secondly, when they work in a group to accomplish a shared commitment, they have to learn to cooperate with others to achieve that shared goal. This pushes them to learn to be more responsible for their part and to become good team players. These qualities are highly valued in today’s job market irrespective of whether they opt to work for a company or become self-employed.

Studying at university allows learners to cultivate other crucial personal traits such as grit and critical thinking skill. As for the former, the endless academic knowledge at university is by no means easy, and so undergraduates often spend months on end running deadlines, collecting information, writing reports, and trying to complete the assignment on time. It is worth noting that they may come across unwanted problems or encounter setbacks along the way, and these difficulties force them to stand firm and make adjustments. As a result, they can enhance their resilience, flexibility, determination, all of which are evidently important for people’s success.

In conclusion, it would be illogical to say that universities do not teach people qualities that are wholly necessary for people’s success in the future.