Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals Others say that there are more important environmental problems Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Several environmental problems are taken into account nowadays. While I reckon that the focal issue of today’s generation is the extinction of particular creatures, I strongly believe that other serious problems need to be considered.

On the one hand, I regard the loss of biodiversity as a burning issue nowadays. As the Earth is getting warmer, some natural habitats of wildlife creatures have become inhospitable to live. Along with the excessive poaching of hunters for meat, furs, and feathers, a large number of species have been driven to the verge of extinction. As creatures play a crucial role in balancing the ecosystem, The loss of any single species can lead to the disorder of the food chain as well as the environment, in general. Therefore, it is reasonable to assert that the loss of biodiversity can have destructive impacts on the environment.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that there are some environmental problems that need to be concerned. One of these issues is global warming and climate change. Climate change has resulted in disastrous consequences for every creature’s life. As more calamities occur frequently such as floods, droughts, deadly summer heat waves, etc, more and more people have lost their homes, and numerous hectares of forest have been wiped out. Along with these destructive hazards, Global warming has also led to the loss of coastal lands and cities as the sea level is rising dramatically. Many scientists have predicted that by 2050 almost the entire region of Southern Vietnam will be immersed in the sea. Therefore, I believe that today’s generations have to face up with various environmental problems.

In conclusion, the extinction of species, as well as climate change, global warming, and other issues, are threatening the existence of human beings and the balance of the environment. Therefore, it is imperative to protect the environment and live in harmony with the Earth.