Tourism plays an important role in the development of many countries, especially nations filled with beautiful destinations and natural landscapes. However, tourism is adversely affecting the natural environment on a global scale. This essay will explicate its main causes and provide effective solutions.

To commence with, several factors are contributing to environmental problems these days. One of these consequences is the loss of natural habitat and wildlife species. As tourism grows up, many people flock to beautiful natural landscapes. Enterprises have wiped out spacious local areas for building infrastructure such as shopping malls, resorts, hotels etc, disturbed local wildlife. All of these have led to a decrease in the habitat areas and a plummet in the wildlife population. For instance, tourism has resulted in the degradation of coral reeds in the Caribbean regions, leading numerous marine species to lose their homes. Furthermore, tourism often puts pressure on natural resources through over-consumption, often in places where resources are already scarce. Due to the excessive exploitation of local natural resources, the native soil has become too barren to cultivate, as well as the water being overused and contaminated. All of these aspects have caused the gradual destruction of environmental resources and ecological imbalance.

What local authorities can do to help protect the environment is to raise awareness among tourists about the importance of the ecological balance and the environmental health. Only by understanding the significant role of the environment can travelers willingly join hands in protecting it. Another effective method is to enact stricter regulations regarding littering particularly in popular destinations. The high effectiveness of fining litterbugs is demonstrated in the example of Singapore, where the trash can never be found in public places.

To sum up, despite the economic benefits, tourism still has detrimental impacts on the environment. However, with the efforts made by the locals and travelers, its severe results can be mitigated.