Some people say that modern communication technology is having negative effects in social relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that social relationships are negatively affected by the recent innovations in communication technology. This essay completely agrees with this statement because it results to lesser personal interactions, and often creates misunderstanding due to inability of a person to express emotional reactions.

One of the negative effects of technology is that it hinders active socialization. This is because of the popularity of smart phone use, which allows the user to browse the internet and install various applications that can be used to easily communicate with other people through e-mails and video calls. Thus, the need to spend time outside to personally meet friends and family members become the least option. For example, in a recent study conducted by University of California reported that 82% of Americans would rather talk to their peers using messenger and face time than to hang out with them outside.

In addition, technology makes it difficult for people to understand what others really think. This means that the ability of a person to comprehend meanings behind body movements and facial expressions is restricted without face-to-face interaction, which may cause misunderstanding between people because gestures are part of non-verbal cues that helps a person to have an effective conversation. For instance, in 2017, a survey was conducted by Pulse Asia reported that text messages are the top reason couples misunderstood each other and later lead to quarrels.

To conclude, technology caused too much comfort for people to confine themselves inside their homes than to bond outside, and causes miscommunication.