Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together Do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, music has gradually become part of people’s everyday lives to the extent that it’s hard to think about living without its existence. This leads to the idea that music is a good way of bringing people together despite of their age and cultural backgrounds. I strongly believe this statement for two main reasons.

First of all, music lifts language barriers and leaves cultural differences aside. The love for music can be seen at any place where people from different countries or backgrounds are brought together and they happen to share the same taste for music. For instance, a couple of years ago I was in Toronto with my boyfriend and we came across a pub where live music was playing. As fans of live music, we decided to give it a try. By eavesdropping some conversations, we noticed that many of the customers were foreigners like us. After a while, the song ‘Piano man’ came along. Surprisingly, all the people there started singing and raising their glasses, looking at each other and nodding as a sign of approval. Although we all spoke different languages, everyone seemed to connect through the soothing melody, lyrics and rhythm.

Furthermore, music has the power to bring generations closer together. In spite of the age, strong melodies or relatable lyrics can make people feel the same way. To exemplify this, I think of the song ‘Don’t stop me now’ by Queen. Freddie's memorable and stunning voice, the grooving rhythm and catching lyrics make people want to dance and sing along, instantaneously. Even though it's an 80s song, everyone enjoys it. In this way, music seems to bridge all generations together.

To conclude, music has become a vital part of our lives. It can help us to connect to people and most importantly, to create bonds, regardless of all ages and cultural backgrounds.