Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals Others say that there are more important environmental problems Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Environmental issues have become more evident within the last couple years. Some people believe that one of the main problems for this is the loss of flora and fauna. Others state that there are bigger problems compared to this loss. Personally, I side with latter view.

On one hand, some people might believe that the extinction of some plants and animals is the main cause of environmental issues nowadays since it is what is mainly shown on television. The loss of any flora or fauna might cause dramatical changes to the ecosystem. For instance, animals that feed on a certain plant that no longer exists might find themselves looking for different source of food which can already be the source for a different animal, leaving it with a shortage of supplies. Not only for that animal but for other types of animals who feed on the same plant as well, which can consequently lead to their extinction.

On the other hand, everyday life shows us there are more important problems than this and that are one of the main causes for those animals and plants to go extinct. For instance, the rhino, which are killed for their horns, has almost become extinct due to the constant hunting that, unfortunately, is still allowed and practised in some countries. Furthermore, agricultural companies have cut down millions of hectares in the Amazon, for example, where thousands of animals and plants species live, just for the sake of expanding their business. They fail to take into account the amount of flora and fauna that is being destroyed by doing so.

To sum up, I think that even though flora and fauna extinction is one of the main environmental concerns nowadays, we need to look at the bigger picture and consider the reasons for them to go extinct in the first place, such as the reduction and exploitation of their natural habitat caused by agricultural industries.