Some people say music is a good way of bringing people of different culture and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, music is enjoyed by almost anyone around the world. Some believe that it is effective in terms of connecting individuals together, regardless of their cultural backgrounds and ages. I completely agree with this statement and will provide examples and explanations to justify this opinion.

It is undeniable that the impact of music on people’s feelings does not depend on whether or not they know what the song is about but rather on the mood of the music. When we listen to a song with sad melodies, the way we perceive the sadness is universal. This remains true even when we do not understand the meaning of the song’s lyrics. Conversely, when a song is uplifting, it can bring energy to the listeners without its literal meaning being understood at all. Thus, the fact that music affects the feelings of people worldwide the same way shows that music can connect people from different cultures and ages.

While a song’s melodies can have effects on our emotions, the lyrics brings the tale that the author of the song had put in it closer to the audience if the song has one. The lyrics’ of all songs around the world serve the same purpose: to help people understand the story behind the songs. For foreign audience, using a translator is all it takes to understand most of a lyrics, which will effectively convey the meaning of the song, even when its culture is very different from that of the listeners. This is because lyrics usually have words and sentences that are chosen in such a poetic way that it expresses much meaning without having a large word count. Lyrics, together with the tunes will help different groups people have the same understanding about the song.

In conclusion, music is very effective at connecting people together with its expressive melodies and poetic lyrics whether its audience are similar in culture and age or not.