Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely believed that learning a foreign language is solely beneficial for travel and employment overseas. While some people had this view, I think that there are other motives for picking up an additional language.

On the one hand, travel and work in a foreign country are deemed to be common reasons for language acquisition, especially in this globalised world. In other words, globalisation made it very easy now for people to travel or to migrate to another country. Travellers usually have a strong desire to communicate with local people and learn more about the culture of the country they visit. Thus, they are encouraged to pick up a foreign language to meet this purpose. Regarding migrants, being able to speak the language of a host country could be a huge advantage for acclimatisation and job performance. Therefore, those who work overseas are very keen to learn an additional language.

On the other hand, I believe that people still have an interest in foreign language acquisition for other reasons even if it is not for travel or work. This can be for their hobbies. Many people indeed like learning languages because this activity helps to strengthen their cognitive capabilities and gives them a sense of self-fulfilment. In addition, a large number of people married to foreigners, as a result, this is likely to motivate them to acquire the language of their partners so that they can communicate with each other more effectively.

In conclusion, it is evident that travelling and working abroad are compelling/obvious reasons for people to learn a foreign language. However, I am of the view that these are not the only rationales for additional language acquisition as there are some others mentioned above.