Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Domestic wasted has always been a great concern of many people who claim that it is not sufficiently recycled. In their opinion, only by making recycling a legal duty, can it be increased. I completely agree with this view.

To begin with, legalisation of recycling household refuses could act as a driving force to get citizens into the habit of recycling in the first place. This is especially necessary for countries where there is no existing knowledge or awareness about recycling. For instance, in my home country - Vietnam, people hardly recycle household items because they have never been told to do so, and there is no policy about this being in place to provoke action. Thus, if there is a legal requirement about recycling people will be forced to establish the habit of doing it.

In addition to building a custom of recycling home waste, a legal obligation may assist residents to maintain this action in the long run. This can be attributed to people’s fear of paying fines for breaking the law. Therefore, they would make an effort to continue recycling. The more people keep acting on this issue, the more domestic refuses will be recycled.

In conclusion, I believe that laws are essential in making people recycle more of their waste because of reasons mentioned above.