Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every aspect. Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays people have different views about children play computer games. While some people argue that online games have totally negative influence on children’s development, however, I do believe that there are also advantages of playing those games.

On the one hand, it is understandable that people complain the adverse effects of computer games. Firstly, children’s academic performance will be influenced, if they addict to those games. they may spend a plenty of time on playing games instead of doing homework every day, their subject scores therefore will decline apparently. Secondly, playing computer games may also have influence on students’ behaviours. online games normally include violent content, which can set a bad example to teenagers. they may emulate the game to bully classmate at schools, consequently, they are more likely to become violent when they enter adulthood.

On the other hand, some people agree that computer games also have benefits on students’ development. For instance, they are able to acquire some computer skill through playing these games, and those technical skills are needed in their future life and work. Moreover, they are also able to develop social skills and leadership skills by playing computer games. students normally play as a group, if they want to win the game, they have to learn how to cooperate and communicate with others, and they also need to become a leader to lead a team to win the game. As a result, they are able to become cooperative and responsible.

Admittedly, it cannot be denied that computer games have negative effects on students’ development, however, I do believe that there are also some advantages as stated above. Today our young generation are living in a technology era, it is unavoidable for them to have access to some online games more or less. As long as parents and schools take their responsible to monitor students play those games appropriately, this will become helpful tools for students’ development.

In conclusion, students may addict to computer games so that their academic performance will be influenced, however, their social abilities and basic computer skills are also able to be developed.