Some people say that teaching local history to school children is more important than teaching world history to them. Do you agree or disagree?

Teaching local history prior to the world history or vice versa has been a debatable issue in educational fields. Local history can bring interest from children so that they can find the overall interest in studying about history whereas world history can be beneficial to learn about the whole world information. However, I believe that teaching world history to children is more important than teaching local history to them for the educational reasons.

Local history can provide the genuine attraction from children since this contains the regional background and history. For example, if local history is covering about a regional area called Wanneroo and children were born in that area would attract more of their attention and which can create the interest in that subject. Furthermore, students can feel connected to the history and that can motivate their studies. Therefore, teaching local history is important for students to bring their attention and interests.

While local history is bringing the overall interest from students, the world history provides the full picture of events. World history can cover various regions and that can be the direct cause of a certain event in the region areas. For instance, if children only learnt the events of British invasion of Wanneroo in 1765, they would not know in detail of why British came all the way to Australia or the causes of it and which can lead to misunderstanding of historical events. Thus, knowing world history is also important for grasp the full picture of historical events.

In conclusion, local history can bring the genuine interest from children to motivate with their studies whereas world history provides the full story of historical events including of local history. Hence, even though teaching local history can bring students’ initial interest, providing the world history is more important for the understanding and grasping the full picture of historical events.