Some people say that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

At present time, some people may have an opinion that all criminals should have the identical punishments for the same types of crime that they have made. However, there is also an idea that each crime is individual and punishment should consider all its reasons and conditions. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and outline my opinion.

Those who support the view that humanity should have fixed punishments regardless of its motive provide a number of reasons to justify their point of view. One of them is that if people know that all their illegal activities lead to serious consequences and the motivation of that does not play any role, they will think twice about committing a crime. Proponents of such argument also believe that such measure will immediately decrease crime rate in the country and will help to create practically perfect society. For instance, in Saudi Arabia, person who has stolen something will have the punishment and will lose his hand. Moreover, it does not matter if the person pull of an orange or a car.

Nevertheless, those who disagree with the idea above present their respective points as well. That group of society that think that the motivation of the crime have to be considered in any occasion and the punishment should be individual confirm their thoughts with the fact that there are examples of crimes when the illegal activity is made accidentally. They assert that it is unfair to punish real criminals and people who are not criminal in the same way. For example, in situation when somebody hurt somebody cause just wanted to protect himself the judge should decide the best penalty considering all the aspects of crime perpetration and it should not be really strict.

On the whole, even if the fixed punishments are more effective and can create safer conditions for our living, I suppose that the justice system must be flexible and give people opportunity for giving the most appropriate verdict.