Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Governments legislate punishment for different types of crimes to either prevent them or reduce the rate of them and if just a fixed punishment for all crimes led to regulation. In my opinion, it is better to set different punishments for different crimes.

Death penalty is one of the punishments that governments consider for violent crimes such as murder, assault, human trafficking, people smuggling, etc... These criminals must be punished with the highest punishment because their crimes affect on social and cause people not have feel peace and security. All asset of a government is the trust of its people.

But some crimes are minor and cannot set high punishment for them like illegal parking, robbery, burglary, arson, kidnapping, etc... The judge must punish them in person or pay money and after some time release them. Although most minor crimes can be forgiven, juries and judges don’t do this because of that they don’t commit crimes again.

In fact, no government cannot set a fixed punishment for all crimes. If they legislate as a rule all people have a tendency to commit violent crimes because think that minor crimes don’t have enough proceeds, in addition, it does not matter whether minor or violent the criminal should be dead. The social impact of this rule is very harmful and most of people harm.

As a result, it is impossible to set a fixed punishment for all crimes and it is better to divide crimes into minor and violent crimes and for each of them set different punishment.