Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The crime rates in most countries are rising consistently over the last 10 years. Consequently, one of the most controversial debates relates to whether the judiciary system should adopt fixed punishments for each level of crime or consider the situation and motivation behind the case. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints by providing examples and give my opinion.

On the one hand, some people argue that the benefits of penalizing crimes with fixed punishments outweigh its disadvantages. First, it can save both time and money invested in trials significantly. As a result, the government can subsidize financially and give a concerted effort more on other sectors such as healthcare and education. In addition, it is commonly believed that criminals will think twice every time before they commit crimes as the potential punishments are swift and strict. Recent studies also show the declining total crime rates in countries that follow identical judiciary structure.

On the other hand, many people argue that there are always extenuating circumstances for each crime. For instance, influences such as poverty, blackmailing, and superior orders should be taken into account. Take women ending up killing rapists in their self-defense and drivers hitting pedestrians while drunk as examples. In such conditions, a balanced verdict is nowhere near to be reached unless the cases are brought up at the court for further inspections.

To conclude, both sides have their own merits. Personally, I tend to extend my support to the latter opinion. Fixed decisions can be taken on petty crimes such as shoplifting, cyber-hacking, and vandalism. However, in serious crimes such as murder and theft, a fair verdict can only be achieved after the investigation of cases in depth.