Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree about this opinion?

It is argued that we are paying too much attention and squandering resources in the conservation of wild animals and birds. Personally, I partly agree with the point of view.

There are many reasons why some aspects of protecting animals and birds haven’t been concerned much. In terms of habitat, because of the rapid population growth of humans, which leads to forest destruction for land demands. Consequently, more and more animals faced a lack of environment for surviving and reproducing. For instance, by constructing a wind power plant requires the expansive landmass, this affects animal habitat, especially many kinds of birds died by the turbine. Secondly, some people believe that animals could be a method of health treatment, giving rise to illegal hunting in many countries. For example, in Africa, rhino horns are exploited by hunters, then selling it to the wealthy for disease cures such as cancer.

On the other hand, people also spent too many resources on protecting animals. Many non-government organizations were established for conserving animals and accusing of actions that adverse to animals particularly, and the environment generally. For instance, the WSPA is an international non-profit animal welfare organization, which was born in 1981, aiming to encourage more people to support us transforming animal’s lives. Another reason is that the amount of money was prior invested in conserving endangered species instead of upgrading in infrastructures or improving living standards in some regions.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I still partly support that we are concentrating too much and greatly allocating on animal survival.