Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree with the opinion?

In recent decades, the protection of wild animals and birds has been a matter of controversy. Many people consider that governments and organizations have paid too much attention and spent too much money protecting wild animals. I do not agree with this opinion. Personally, I would argue that all animals play an important role in our ecosystem, also preserving animals is human’s environmental responsibility.

In the first place, the flora and fauna play a much larger role in maintaining a healthy planet. The decline of the number of individual species can have a strong effect on biodiversity, then makes the natural ecosystem become unbalanced. For instance, in fields, rats are food for snakes and owls; without these animals, the rat population can be uncontrolled. As a result, rats can harm human food crops and cause some serious diseases. In addition to this, animals help with climate control, pest control, and assistance to other species' development. In particular, bats are natural pesticides and bees are powerful pollinators.

Secondly, devoting time and money to preserving wild animals is a human’s environmental responsibility. Production activities, deforestation, and overhunting have negative effects on wildlife, particularly the extinction of some species. For one more reason, animals deserve our respect and care because they also feel pain and fear just like we do. They are just as important as we are on this planet, if we mistreat animals, we do more harm than good. For example, animals supply food, clothing, and medicine for humans; without them, our lives would have more difficulties and we would have to find other substitutes that would be expensive.

In conclusion, although some people think that it is unreasonable to waste money and resources on protecting wild animals and birds. I strongly disagree with this idea since all animals are significant for our ecosystem to stay healthy and protecting animals is people’s environmental responsibility.