Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree with the opinion?

In the recent decades, the importance of wildlife conservation has grown significantly due to the immense effects of human activities on wildlife populations. There is an argument that the level of attention and resources have been excessively allocated to the protection of wild animals and birds. I wholeheartedly disagree with this notion. Personally, all animals play a tremendous role in keeping our ecosystem healthy and protecting them brings enormous benefits in the economy.

In the first place, promoting wildlife conservation has profound significance for maintaining biodiversity and ecological balance. it remarkably contributes to the stability, ensuring the balance and survival of various plants and animals, especially endangered species. In addition, every species holds an indispensable element in creating our harmonious ecosystem as the extinction of one can cause a chain reaction, profoundly impacting on many others. For instance, if some birds such as hummingbirds or honeyeaters which are often considered as crucial animals in pollinating go extinct, it may lead to the decline of reproduction quality and affect the survival of plants that depend on bird pollinators.

From an economic perspective, establishing a nature reserve not only helps to diminish pressure on natural wild fauna that are frequently hunted for human food and necessities, but also results in substantial economic contributions / provides considerable economic advantages. The largest benefits are particularly showcased in ecotourism, by attracting tourists, generating revenue, creating jobs, and improving infrastructure. For example, the local community has opportunities to positively take part in business activities relevant to ecotourism such as hotel service, travel service, retail local handicraft, and so on. These income-generating activities have been successful in uplifting local citizen’s livelihood and poverty alleviation.

In conclusion, although some people think that it is unreasonable to waste money and resources on protecting wild animals and birds. I strongly disagree with this idea since all animals are significant for our ecosystem to stay healthy and safeguarding wild animals creates substantial economic value.