Some people say that we do not need printed newspapers any more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that printed newspapers are no longer vital. While I accept that the effect of newspapers is on the wane, I believe that there are cases in which they are indispensable.

On the one hand, online news has been an alternative to printed publications because of several reasons. Chief among those is that digital versions outperform traditional newspapers in terms of how such approaches provide the public with up-to-the-minute information. Indeed, unlike paper news, which are published on a daily or weekly basis, online news, fueled by the ubiquity of internet connection, can better satisfy readers’ demands of breaking news. Another noteworthy point lies in a more enjoyable “reading” experience. Specifically, a large population are gravitating towards online news because information is disseminated by multimedia contents, like podcasts or video, which enables them to keep abreast of heated issues without actually glancing at the writing itself.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the superiority of e-papers, printed newspapers cannot be entirely superseded in the current society. To begin with, while the Internet has yet been available in many disadvantaged areas, residents with insufficient computer literacy remain numerous. Therefore, in such cases, printed materials can stand out as the optimal, or even only tools for accessing information. In addition, no sooner had internet-based newspapers proliferated than news agencies put more emphasis on rapid news coverage in hopes of competing with others, and consequently, sometimes the significance of accuracy became blurred. By contrast, printed versions, released less frequently with stricter editorial policies, are witnessed to offer not only more reliable news sources but also a higher number of in-depth analyses, so they are more appropriate to those willing to dig deep into a certain topic.

To sum up, although not disavowing that the prominence of newspapers no longer exists, I opine that they still play a pivotal role in the modern community.