. Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There has appeared endless discussion over the fate of historic monuments. Some people are in favor of preserving old buildings while others hold strong belief in the advantages of demolishing them and replacing with modern ones. From my own viewpoint, I show great interest in the former.

First and foremost, it is necessary to preserve old buildings because of their cultural value, which is of particular importance for the modern society. It cannot be denied that historic heritages clearly reflect dedicated effort and commitment of our ancestors. They represent not only the aesthetic soul but also the incredible strength and precious virtues of our forebears. For instance, Co Loa Citadel in Vietnam, which was built to defense the country against Chinese enemy, was a remarkable fortress with spiral, multi-layered structure and excessive amount of human strength. Certainly, these monuments serve as a symbol to memorialize our ancestors' achievements especially when many young people nowadays are trying to ignore cultural and traditional values. More importantly, culture exchange is an essential facet. It is manifest that people are always eager to learn more, to know more about the culture of other countries. Fortunately, preserving historic buildings is an easy way to spread country image and the great stature of our predecessors to the world. Therefore, it is apparently inappropriate to destroy old monuments that contain enormous cultural values.

Secondly, economic stimulation draws much of my attention. It is obvious that historic monuments will attract tourists from all over the world. Streams of tourists are certain to contribute a large amount of money to the city budget. In addition, they are likely to tell others about their memorable experience of visiting famous historic constructions. Thus, national tourism will definitely be improved . More notably, tourism development will result in stimulating other sectors due to the boosted budget. Terrible transportation, atrocious infrastructure will be better repaired and properly upgraded. In this way, living standards will also be promoted.

All in all, not only culture value but also economic stimulation greatly convince me for my opinion. I strongly believe that city leaders should consider my analysis to adopt proper policies on the fate of historic bulidings.