Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is heard that a lot of parents prevent their children from playing video games. Even though some people can argue that it is not worth spending time on these computer games, I believe that young people can benefit a lot from it.

On the one hand, it seems reasonable in some ways that some people are now wasting their precious time playing on the computer. Today’s video games are so attractive that many people become addicted to the virtual world on the computer. As a result, they may forget all other core values which make the life meaningful such as family and career. For this reason, playing electronic games can be a complete waste of time.

On the other hand, I hold to the view that young people can learn essential skills while taking time to play video games. First, they can gain the ability to type with ten fingers which improves their typing speed - one of the most basic office skills which are required by all employers these days. Second, according to some scientists, playing electronic games is able to boost creativity. In the colourful world of video games, people can build a happy city or a sky garden on their own. In this way, they have an enormous space allowing their imagination to go far; therefore new great ideas also have ample opportunities to come into being.

In conclusion, there are merits to both arguments; however, it seems to me that providing people have their self-discipline, the advantages of spending time on computer games are more significant than its drawbacks.