Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

playing games on computers and electronic devices, one of the most important leisure activities, has several direct impacts on users, the young in particular. While it is believed that playing such games can probably sharpen a variety of essential skills of players, I would argue that it is a waste of time.

On the one hand, several young people play video games which is a way to approach the modern technology as well as to release from stress, recharge battery after a hard-working day. In addition, these games greatly cultivate creativity of gamers along with logical thinking, problem solving skills. For instance, the useful skills gained by playing strategy games may be beneficial to finding the way if you go astray in the forest. Finally, shooting games, like Counter Strike, require tremendous focus and extremely fast reflexes to complete stages in those games, can be helpful in the young’s real life.

However, it is obvious that these advantages are outweighed by the drawbacks. Spending hours on those games gives rise to neglect of school assignment and inadequate development of skills. Additionally, not only does it result in many health problems such as eye-related diseases, obesity and so on, but it is also harmful to the users’ conceptions because several games involve violence and sex. Furthermore, players exposed to this kind of entertainment on a frequent basis can be addicted to them.

In conclusion, playing video games may help the young to enhance a few crucial skills, but it seems to me that it is more likely to be a time-wasting. Meanwhile, it would be better if the young spent time with their families or on other healthy and educational options, such as reading books or participating in sport clubs.