Some people store personal and private information online, including banking, contacts and addresses. Is it a positive or negative trend?

In the digital era, it is irrefutable that technology has substantially affected the way people store personal data. The use of information storage in the Internet seems to have considerably become more prevalent among users over the past few years. While this has several advantages, I believe that it is an overall negative trend.

To begin with; there are several benefits of utilizing this kind of information storage. First and foremost, such method can save a lot of time for individuals. Repetitive entering to person-related data can be avoided only by a jew clicks. For example, if a consumer wants to pay for the food at a restaurant or to pay the bill in the supermarket, one storage of his/her identity makes the procedure faster and more convenient. Secondly, access to personal data everywhere is indisputably one of the biggest merits of this trend. By logging in the banking account or using cookies in the phone, the identity of users can be obtained immediately without making an attempt to remember complicated details.

On the flip side, I am of the opinion that aforementioned upsides came at the expense of greater downsides. Firstly, it is greatly concerned that sensitive information uploaded in the Internet can forster widespread fraud. These days, there are a number of hackers who break into a person's or an organization's secure spaces online and then do fraudulent activities such as transferring money to another account or making illegal transactions under the name of a particular individual. Moreover, privacy is also a controversial issue. When saving personal records online it may run the risks of being compromised as Internet does not fully guarantee the security of the information. For example, that personally identifiable information including social media activities of 87 million Facebook users was compromised in September 2018 reflects upon the vulnerability of large companies and Internet services in controlling and preventing the misuse of customer’s data.

In conclusion, storing private data of users online is a common practice and brings about a lot of advantages, however, they are dwarfed by substantial disadvantages.