Some people store personal and private information online, including banking, contacts and addresses. Is it a positive or negative trend?

There is no doubt that the digital era benefits people in many aspects. By which, there is an upward trend that people keep their personal and private information on online platforms. From my perspective, I consider this phenomenon to cause more harm than good.

It is argued that the decision to save data online enables hackers to lead through wide gaps in technology. For most people, especially those who are not computer experts, the idea of posting data on the Internet can help them access it easier. However, there are inherent risks when personal information is given out and sold to companies. There is no question that people nowadays are often disturbed by advertised calls, messages or emails which are only known by their acquaintances.

In addition, it is even worse when some people keep their bank accounts or addresses online. They can become victims of some scrams or appropriations of property. For example, they can feign as bank staff and send fake links that help them withdraw money easily whenever someone clicks on that. Furthermore, by taking advantage of technology for some simple tasks, such as storing information, it makes people too dependent on and reduces the fexibiliy. It means people spend more time on digital devices, which has some consequences for physical and mental health, including: myopia, disease related to backbones or lack of social communication, etc.

To recapitulate, although technology brings a variety of advantages for human life, it also hides some risks that normal people cannot predict. So I strongly reckon that the trend of saving private information online has more drawbacks that have detrimental effects on personalities.