some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that countries should have a self-sufficient supply rather than importing food from other countries. While some people agree that the country should produce their food for themselves instead of getting all the food from overseas countries. However, I cannot entirely agree with the given statement.

On the one hand, some people argue that countries should make plenty of storage foods for their residents because of some factors. First of all, ensuring quality products that they consume. For instance, people can know the food resources or those products have good or bad ingredients. Moreover, self-sufficient supply can cut waste food in the world. For example, when the farmers grow plants. Afterward, they can use the food that they grow without buying food, besides, they can spend lots of food to help others such as the poor, the sick or the homeless.

Nevertheless, I believe that self-sufficient supply can bring some downside for their nations. Firstly, it is not suitable for all the countries in the world. For example, some countries had been desertification and drought. Therefore, they cannot grow plants to supply for themselves. Secondly, it does not benefit the global economy. For instance, when a country is not connected with other countries in the world, it can be isolation, it might reduce their economy and lag behind compared with the world.

In summarize, while some people think that their countries do not need to import foods or goods from foreign countries because they think the government should produce all the food for them. However, I disagree with this view because this will bring some drawbacks and not suitable in some countries.