some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that a nation should produce all kinds of food for its citizen and reducing the importing food as little as possible. While some people agree with this idea, I also believe that this view has some benefits.

On the one hand, a country should become the self-sufficient supply of all kinds of food for its citizens because of some factors. First of all, creating more than opportunities for jobs for the unemployed. For example, by focusing on farming, planting, irrigation, a government can make lots of jobs for people out of work. Consequence, the government can reduce the unemployment rate and increase worker productivity in their country.

Furthermore, importing food cannot ensure the quality and freshness of food due to some reasons. First of all, transportation food in a long distance can damage food and it is not fresh as domestically farming food. Besides, some companies export their foods to other nations, this is a long distance, so they need to preserve food by some preservative ingredients. Therefore, toxic chemical content can exceed the criteria of health safety warrant. Consequently, this can affect people’s health.

In conclusion, although the best way to ensuring quality and freshness food for the health of citizens is self-sufficient on their food production, I also believe that a country should try to produce all kinds of food for their dwellers.