Some people suggest that social networking and online communication have increased social isolation.

Do you agree?

In current society, the blooming of the Internet era has promoted communication through online platforms and social media. It is considered that this trend has a detrimental impact on social interaction. Personally, I disagree with that statement for the following reasons.

First and foremost, social networking sites are effective tools to connect people around the world. Students who study overseas, for instance, find it easier to get in contact with their beloved ones, regardless of the countries they live in. This ease of access to communication with family members can help students overcome the feeling of loneliness at the first stage of studying abroad. Furthermore, social media can also open new opportunities for people to make new friends. Online platforms can create chances to create new relationships with people having the same hobbies, opinions and targets. For example, students who aim to apply for a scholarship can ask for useful advice from seniors through social media channels, including Youtube, Facebook and Instagram.

Secondly, there is no doubt that online platforms can reduce the cost of communication and effectively increase productivity. With help of online tools like Gmail and Outlook, people can exchange files, documents and presentations in a faster and more economical way. In addition, for business purposes, when communication is not just limited between two people, online communication is an efficient method for group discussion, hence, it can help to solve a business’s problem more effectively. Some platforms for group meetings such as Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet can reduce the cost and time of travelling for participants.

In contrast, opponents can argue that despite the benefits that online communication brings, it is one of the main reasons that cause social isolation. This can be true to some extent. Some youngsters now become so addicted to social media that they have difficulties making face-to-face conversations. Additionally, the overuse of online platforms can weaken the relationships among family members since people constantly stare at their smartphones instead of sharing and caring for others. However, these drawbacks only occur in some cases when people have low self-control ability. When people gain a better understanding of self-monitoring methods, the advantages of online platforms can overweight their negative aspects.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that social media and online communication have positively contributed to a better society. In order to take advantage of these inventions and prevent overuse, people should learn to manage their behaviour more effectively.