Some people they that interview is the best method in recruiting staff but others say there are better ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world of work, interview is arguably the most popular method of selecting employees in the world. Some people even claim that it is also the best way to do the job but others disagree. In my opinion, the nature of the career would decide how suitable interview is in staff selection process.

On the one hand, I agree that interview is absolutely necessary in most cases for two compelling reasons. Firstly, this is a perfect chance to employers to know more about their potential staff. Apart from basic information such as academic qualifications or work history that recruiters could find out easily in their candidates' CVs, they would have deeper understanding about the candidates' personalities like openness or motivation in direct communication, which is crucial in deciding who would be the most qualified to the position. Secondly, having a direct talk to the potential employer is normal the only chance for job seekers to show their skills, especially communication ones. Most of the professions nowadays do require workers to communicate one way or another; hence both the interviewers and candidates if they certainly can talk to each other before settling working relationship.

On the other hand, I also believe that interview is not necessary in recruiting new staff working in some certain fields like science or computer programming. Obviously, choosing scientists or programmers with excellent communication skills is unrealistic since they mostly do their specialized tasks with full intellectual concentration and without frequent communication to other people. Also, the values of researchers or coders, illustrated in their past projects they have accomplished, appear unequivocally in their CVs, which could be easily acknowledged by the employers within seconds of reading instead of minutes or even hours of interviewing. Therefore, there is no need for employers to talk to potential staff who they have already had enough information to take into the consideration

In conclusion, I strongly believe that interview is an effective method of recruiting staff across many occupations, but not in some highly specialized fields like science or computation.