Some people think that advertising aimed at children should be banned To what extent do you agree or disagree

Advertising is gaining more popularity in the marketing of goods and services, but it is argued that advertisers should be prohibited to target children. I wholeheartedly concur with this idea for two main reasons that will be elaborated below.

This prohibition can bring meagre-income families many benefits. In fact, children are easily tricked and influenced by glossy photos, branding endorsements, or other advertising strategies of entrepreneurs, they may, in turn, force their parents to purchase unnecessary and unaffordable items, leading to financial burdens on them. For example, many Vietnamese children always ask their parents to buy excessive amounts of snacks and soft drinks, which have pictures of Elsa, Anna, or Captian America- famous characters in popular movies, thus exacerbating the economic well-being of households. Therefore, if advertisements do not direct at young kids, families could spend more money on other key fields, like education and healthcare, to improve their living standards.

Restrictions on advertising targeting youngsters could prevent their physical and mental illnesses. Specifically, many children are obsessed with unrealistic contents of advertisements, and they may be under the illusion that they can climb the wall, like Spider Man after using energy drink or they can break cements at ease after drinking soy milk. More seriously, some even give these challenges a try after using advertised products, leading to children’s frustration and physical injuries. Hence, to avoid unfortunate incidents, it is imperative to prohibit products aiming at children.

In conclusion, the constraints on advertising directing at kids bring a multitude of manifest advantages in terms of finance and health. The government should impose stringent punishments on trespassers to ensure the public’s interest.