Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world Is it a positive or negative development

Nowadays, it is thought that there are hardly any differences among cities around the world. This similarity is caused by many reasons and this development is proved to exert negative implications on human life.

There are some reasons to explain this trend. First, since globalization facilitates the global trade and flows of investments, businessmen could expand their business and penetrate foreign markets without any trade barriers. Therefore, it is normal to catch the sight of multinational companies or international brands, such as Samsung, Facebook, McDonald , or Starbucks in any metropolises across the globe, leading to the unexpected similarity. Second, assimilation is also a driving cause of identical cities. For example, Vietnam was a French colony for nearly a decade, thus many building designs in Vietnam have been tremendously affected by the Western styles.

It can be seen that this trend is accompanied by a multitude of negative impacts. Globalization will pose hazards to the diversity of the culture. When people all over the world prefer synchronized customs and practices, they will leave minority cultures on the brink of extinction, resulting in the loss of national heritages and the disappearance of the multicultural world. Besides, the similarity among cities will have destructive effects on the tourism industry. Since all cities share the same styles and designs, people may lose interest in exploring and traveling to new places. Therefore, countries mainly depending on the hospitality sector will suffer from an economic downturn.

In conclusion, the monotony results from globalization and assimilation, and it has severely affected many aspects of life. The government should take urgent measures to protect cultural values and facilitate the tourism industry