Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do
unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They
believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society
as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?
Many young people work on a volunteer basis, and this can only be
beneficial for both the individual and society as a whole. However, I do
not agree that we should therefore force all teenagers to do unpaid work.
Most young people are already under enough pressure with their studies,
without being given the added responsibility of working in their spare
time. School is just as demanding as a full-time job, and teachers expect
their students to do homework and exam revision on top of attending
lessons every day. When young people do have some free time, we
should encourage them to enjoy it with their friends or to spend it doing
sports and other leisure activities. They have many years of work ahead
of them when they finish their studies.
At the same time, I do not believe that society has anything to gain from
obliging young people to do unpaid work. In fact, I would argue that it
goes against the values of a free and fair society to force a group of
people to do something against their will. Doing this can only lead to
resentment amongst young people, who would feel that they were being
used, and parents, who would not want to be told how to raise their
children. Currently, nobody is forced to volunteer, and this is surely the
best system.
In conclusion, teenagers may choose to work for free and help others,
but in my opinion we should not make this compulsory.