Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their
free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the
individual teenager and society as a whole.
Do you agree or disagree?
Many young people work on a volunteer basis, and this can only be beneficial for
both the individual and society as a whole. However, I do not agree that we should
therefore force all teenagers to do unpaid work.
Most young people are already under enough pressure with their studies, without
being given the added responsibility of working in their spare time. School is just as
demanding as a full-time job, and teachers expect their students to do homework and
exam revision on top of attending lessons every day. When young people do have
some free time, we should encourage them to enjoy it with their friends or to spend it
doing sports and other leisure activities. They have many years of work ahead of them
when they finish their studies.
At the same time, I do not believe that society has anything to gain from obliging
young people to do unpaid work. In fact, I would argue that it goes against the values
of a free and fair society to force a group of people to do something against their will.
Doing this can only lead to resentment amongst young people, who would feel that
they were being used, and parents, who would not want to be told how to raise their
children. Currently, nobody is forced to volunteer, and this is surely the best system.